I switched, or rather am moving from, Gmail to Windows Live mail today because of persistent and increasing problems connecting to Gmail in Beijing. I chose Microsoft’s solution instead of Yahoo mail because although Yahoo has more features like a highly desirable 25mb upload size, it also seems to be experiencing speed throttling due to the Great Firewall (GFW).

Anyway, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it isn’t half bad, connects quickly, and lets you easily plug into LinkedIn, WordPress, and if I weren’t in China, Facebook. So that’s kind of nice. One advantage of going with a supergiant like Microsoft is that they have deals with everyone. I know that if you work there you can get a huge discount on your next Audi purchase. Gmail probably offers something like this through Buzz but I never liked that feature and most others didn’t either. So, Eric Rooney Mobile Consulting can now also be contacted at this email: mobileconsulting@live.com

